Client for Ryzen

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Goobee's Place Forum Index -> Optimal Golomb Ruler (OGR)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
goobee
Flunky


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 7086
Location: Sunny California

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:02 pm    Post subject: Client for Ryzen Reply with quote

Any idea if there is a beta client for Ryzen? I have v2.912.521 and it's not recognizing Ryzen.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Polo
Honored member


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 4135
Location: Thorigné, France

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 12:07 am    Post subject: Re: Client for Ryzen Reply with quote

goobee wrote:
Any idea if there is a beta client for Ryzen? I have v2.912.521 and it's not recognizing Ryzen.

Not a problem. You just have to run the client with the test loop to determine the best way to crunch for the Ryzen.

# cd DNet
# ./dnetc -benchmark ogr-ng

Check the results and add these lines in your dnetc.ini file (if core #2 is the best) :
[ogr-ng]
core=2
_________________
Have fun and sport !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goobee
Flunky


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 7086
Location: Sunny California

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Core #3 benchmarked the fastest.

I can't reach your polo.sytes.net site to check my results.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Polo
Honored member


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 4135
Location: Thorigné, France

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

goobee wrote:
Core #3 benchmarked the fastest.

I can't reach your polo.sytes.net site to check my results.


Try www.despretz.fr instead.
_________________
Have fun and sport !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goobee
Flunky


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 7086
Location: Sunny California

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strange, it shows no results for me for the past 28 days.

Here's my latest upload:


_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Polo
Honored member


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 4135
Location: Thorigné, France

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm actually changing my providers...
Replace polo.sytes.net by www.despretz.fr in your dnetc.ini file and restart the client.
If it doesn't work try with the ip adress 109.190.147.6
_________________
Have fun and sport !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Polo
Honored member


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 4135
Location: Thorigné, France

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
[Dec 09 09:01:18 UTC] OGR-NG: Summary: 774 packets (118925.12 stats units)
                      1.13:27:19.87 - [873.41 Mnodes/s]


873 Mnodes/s for my Ryzen at stock speed (3.4 GHz). Mr. Green

This is the new king at home.
My Core i7-5820K CPU @ 3.40GHz is giving me 606 Mnodes/s : 101 Mnodes/s/core
My Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.40GHz is giving me 873 Mnodes/s : 109 Mnodes/s/core

The Ryzen seems to be a little bit more efficient than the Core i7. Very Happy

AMD has really made a good job with this one ! Applause
_________________
Have fun and sport !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goobee
Flunky


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 7086
Location: Sunny California

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is what I am seeing with my 1800x. How does it compare?


_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Polo
Honored member


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 4135
Location: Thorigné, France

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

930 / 8 = 116 Mnodes/s/core at 3,6 GHz

3.4 / 3.6 * 116 = 109 Mnodes/s/core at 3,4 GHz

You get exactly the same crunching power per GHz than mine. Mr. Green
_________________
Have fun and sport !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goobee
Flunky


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 7086
Location: Sunny California

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, that's not fair, I paid extra for the 1800x. #Cussing out

Did you overclock your 1700? I have mine at stock.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Polo
Honored member


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 4135
Location: Thorigné, France

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

goobee wrote:
Hey, that's not fair, I paid extra for the 1800x. #Cussing out

Did you overclock your 1700? I have mine at stock.


No, it's running at stock speed.
The extra is only for 0.2 GHz... Yellow Rolleyes
_________________
Have fun and sport !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Polo
Honored member


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 4135
Location: Thorigné, France

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After a few days of crunching, here are the last numbers for my setup :

Code:
OGR-NG: Summary: 2995 packets (445160.23 stats units)
                      5.16:13:43.62 - [904.06 Mnodes/s]


904 / 8 = 113 Mnodes/s/core at 3.4 GHz. Mr. Green headbang

Running Debian linux kernel 4.9.65-3 x86_64
_________________
Have fun and sport !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goobee
Flunky


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 7086
Location: Sunny California

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bah, I paid extra for nothing then. I don't overclock so the unlocked multiplier is meaningless. #Cussing out
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
goobee
Flunky


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 7086
Location: Sunny California

PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally got the issues worked out with Windows 7 on Ryzen. Microsoft locked out security updates for both Ryzen and Intel Kaby Lakes processors. This is strong arm tactics by Microsoft to move people over to Windows 10 as Windows 7 is still supported for older processors. Of course there are work arounds, I just needed to do research to find them. Not being able to use USB mice and keyboards outside of Windows remains an open issue but I can live with it. (All attempts to slip-stream USB drivers into flash drives have failed miserably)

Rant aside, my fully running Windows 7 on Ryzen build runs beautifully. I can't imagine needing more power, this will hold me for for a long time.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Polo
Honored member


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 4135
Location: Thorigné, France

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never tried a linux distribution ?

I don't run windows anymore and I'm very happy with my different linux setups (8 machines) at home. You have to notice that I'm not a gamer... Games are the only thing that could possibly push you in the windows world.

Actually, all my needs are full filled by the linux solution. Yellow Cool

libreoffice, firefox, chromium, thunderbird, gimp, vlc, clementine.... and I'm happy with that.

I still play some old windows games with Playonlinux.
_________________
Have fun and sport !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Goobee's Place Forum Index -> Optimal Golomb Ruler (OGR) All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group